Wyevale Garden Centres
The Royal Horticultural Society's Award of Garden Merit

The Royal Horticultural Society's Award of Garden Merit (AGM)

With around 100,000 different species and varieties of plants available in the UK, making the right choice for your garden can be rather daunting. Thankfully, the Royal Horticultural Society have done all the hard work on your behalf - with their world renowned Award of Garden Merit (AGM). 

Since 1804 gardeners have been provided with invaluable guidance by the Royal Horticultural Society. The AGM started back in the 1920s and is only bestowed upon plants that have passed a rigorous set of criteria. Notorious throughout the gardening world for being the toughest award of its type, plants that eventually meet AGM standards and receive this prestigious award are the best of the best with outstanding qualities and reliable garden performance.


An AGM is awarded to plants that are:

  • Excellent for ordinary use in appropriate conditions
  • Available
  • Of good constitution
  • Essentially stable in form and colour
  • Reasonably resistant to pests and diseases

So don’t spend time worrying about which plant you should select, simply take full advantage of the hard work and investment that is being made by the Royal Horticultural Society and choose with confidence from any of the 7000 plants across all plant categories that currently have an AGM.

Our AGM plants

We sell a huge range of AGM plants, look out for the symbol on our product web pages or on the plant labels in our garden centres. You can also use our plant finder and filter by RHS Award of Garden Merit to see all of the AGM plants that we sell online.